Masters Road National Champs: Bend racers results roundup | Bent | Bend | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon

Blogs » Bent

Masters Road National Champs: Bend racers results roundup

A handful of solid results from local riders after five days of racing.



Bend-ites put in some proud rides at this week's USA Cycling Masters Road National Championships (pics from Dina Boswell and Co. on the website). Below is a very incomplete list of some of the top performances from the local old guys and gals (if you're 30 or over now, you're a "master"). Hats off to our numerous national champs!

Time Trial (Wed., Aug. 31)

Men 30-34: Locals made up half the damn race. Cody Peterson put in a strong ride for fourth, Scott Gray was sixth and teammate Andrew Boone was seventh.

Men 35-39: Ben Thompson rode into fourth.

Men 50-54: Roger Worthington rode onto podium with a third-place result.

Women 65-69: Dagmar Erikkson NATIONAL CHAMP!

Men Tandem 70+: Tim Jones and T.J. Paskewich NATINAL CHAMPS! Great guys who've been riding fast for some time. Good to see 'em grab a title.

Crit (Thurs., Sept. 1 and Fri., Sept. 2)

Women 40-44: Brenna Lopez-Otero NATIONAL CHAMP! Not easy to beat out Sue Butler in anything. Well done.

Men 30-34: Andrew "PPP" Boone took ninth.

Men 35-39: Kyle Wuepper NATIONAL CHAMP! (ALMOST!) In what was perhaps the most impressive result of the week, local boy Wuepper beat the field in a sprint to the line after the totally inhuman Michael Olheiser soloed to victory (seriously, Olheiser, who makes a practice of lapping the field, is not of this world. Worthy of scientific study). Wuepper has been on good form all season — this is a fine result. Erik "new dad and still fast" Bergstrom finished eighth in the 59-man strong field. Ben Thompson took 16th after spending a large portion of the race off the front.

Men 40-44: Ed Micek, who has raced well all season, finished in 10th in a field of over 100 riders. After being held up by a late-race crash, Bart Bowen took 17th, Derek Stallings was 28th and Brian Seguin was 66th. All were near the front before a rider went down on the straight leading into the third corner.

Men 45-49: Eric Martin, third. Few can beat him in a sprint. Renaissance man Dr. Matt Lasala hung tough for 74th in another field with 100+ riders.

Road Race (Sat. Sept. 3 and Sun. Sept. 4)

Men Tandem 70+: T.J. Paskewich and Tim Jones win again. NATIONAL CHAMPS!

Women 40-44: Brenna Lopez-Otero in fifth and frequent contributor to the Source, Michelle Bazemore was 16th.

Women 45-49: Tawnie McDonald grabbed the third step on the podium.

Men 30-34: Scott Gray finished sixth, Brig Brandt didn't puke and finished in a sprint with a chase group for tenth. The race shattered apart on the last lap, as is evident by the scattered finishing times. Cody Peterson put his nose in the wind early to help keep the pace high but faded to finish 14th. It was reportedly hot and extremely hard (get your mind out of the gutter).

Men 35-39: Ben Thompson spent more time off the front today (almost two laps) and on the last lap, the father of a new baby boy still had a 30-second gap at the feed zone on O.B. Riley. Thompson finished seventh just 6 seconds back. 

Men 40-44: Bart Bowen was the fastest local, taking 17th, 20 seconds off the winning time. Bowen finished ahead of other local fast guys Derek Stallings (29th), Brian Seguin (31st), Mike Larsen (34th), Sloane Anderson (35th), Matt Williams (41st) and Ed Micek (44th).

Men 45-49: Eric Martin rode a strong race to take fourth.

Men 50-54: Doug Perrin posted the top result among Bend riders with a sixth-place finish.

That's what we got. Feel free to comment with more notable Bend performances from today and throughout the weekend. How did others fare in today's road race?










Add a comment

More by The Source Staff