Scam E-mail Hits Bend Broadband Customers | The Wandering Eye | Bend | The Source Weekly - Bend, Oregon

Blogs » The Wandering Eye

Scam E-mail Hits Bend Broadband Customers



If you find an e-mail in your in-box today claiming to be from Bend Broadband and instructing you to send your username, password and phone number “to enable us carryout [sic] an urgent maintenance in your e-mail account” – don’t.

“BendBroadband wishes to inform you that there is a congestion [sic] in your Chesapeake.Net e-mail account,” the e-mail says. “This is due to the spam activities going on in the Internet. You have been contacted personally so that you can confirm your account to avoid losing it to Internet spam.”

It concludes: “BendBroadband Technical Support Unit is opened [sic] for Technology, Help, Information, Support, resources. etc. Thank you for your understanding. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have cause [sic] you!”

A recorded message at Bend Broadband tech support says the e-mail is a scam and warns customers not to reply to it. It looks like a phishing attempt, and judging by the grammatical mistakes and strange sentence constructions I’d guess it was written by somebody who isn’t a native speaker of English.

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Add a comment

More by The Source Staff